Thank you for your interest in the Harrisonburg Rescue Squad. Our members are entrusted with tremendous responsibilities. They must be able to safely operate emergency vehicles, assist and provide patient care in the pre-hospital environment, and treat all patients with ‘dignity, respect and compassion.’ In order to accomplish these tasks, HRS provide a variety of membership categories to best allow you to participate. Click on the category below to learn more.
All members must meet the set of minimum requirements below in order to be a part of our rescue squad team.
MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR MEMBERSHIP
- Be at least 16 years of age.
- Be CPR Certified
- Complete an Observer Shift
- Satisfactorily complete a criminal background check, which includes fingerprinting.
- Submit a driving record.
All applicants must complete a background and driving records investigation, including fingerprinting, DMV records check (Virginia and other states), along with state and federal background checks. If any of the below statements apply to you, you may be disqualified from joining HRS. We do review each application and are happy to discuss your particular situation.
- Convicted of any crime, felony or misdemeanor, involving sexual misconduct.
- Convicted of felonies involving sexual or physical abuse of children, the elderly, or infirmed, or, misconduct with a child, making or distributing child pornography or sexual display, incest involving a child, or assault on an elderly or infirmed person, or, any felony involving sexual misconduct where the consent is an element of the crime, such as forcible rape.
- Convicted of any crime in which the victim is an out-of-hospital patient or a resident of a healthcare facility including abuse, neglect, theft or financial exploitation of a person entrusted to the care or protection of the applicant.
- Convicted of serious crimes of violence against persons such as an assault or battery with a dangerous weapon, aggravated assault and battery, murder or attempted murder, manslaughter except involuntary manslaughter, kidnapping, robbery of any degree, or arson.
- Convicted of serious crimes against property, such as grand larceny, embezzlement, or insurance fraud.
- Convicted of any felony, misdemeanor or any crime involving moral turpitude (crimes involving lying, stealing or cheating).
- Convicted of a Class 1 or Class 2 misdemeanor or the Virginia State law equivalent in the last 3 years.